Connecticut residents may be buying alcohol on a Sunday for the first time, in this state, as soon as May 20. That’s what Gov. Dannel P. Malloy told reporters on Thursday morning (May 10) at a post-legislative session press conference.
The legislation allows liquor permittees to sell alcohol 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Sundays, as well as on the Memorial, Independence and Labor Day holidays, and on Mondays following any Christmas and New Year’s Day that falls on a Sunday.
- No one will be allowed to own more than three package stores (which is an increase from two under the old law).
- Minimum prices will remain intact, with one exception; retailers can sell one item per month for 10 percent below the cost of acquisition.
- Discounted items cannot be sold for less than 90 percent of the permittee’s wholesale cost.
The governor said Thursday the bill hadn’t arrived on his desk yet, but added that by early next week, he expects to receive the bill, give it a final review and sign it.
To read the full story, click here: http://www.ctmirror.org/story/16313/sunday-liquor-sales-should-begin-may-20
Posted May 12, 2012
Editor’s note: We are currently making security improvements to our Web site, and you may sometimes receive a message that the site is temporarily unavailable. We thank you for being patient.
Have a news item, event or Letter to the Editor you’d like posted on this news site? Simply send your information to firstname.lastname@example.org and include your town in the subject line of your email. Please also include a phone number where you can be reached if there are questions. For daily updates on local and Connecticut news, “like” us on Facebook at HTNP News.